The Six Levels of Aggression

"The Tip of the Iceberg"

 Level 1 - Petulant Child

Level 2 - A flair for the dramatic

Level 3 - The beginings of damage

Level 4 - Threatening gestures and damaging


Level 5 - People get hurt usually accidentally (eg,

when the child/young person throws


Level 6 - Serious danger from physical harm

(Price and Cottrell 2002)

Behaviour may be classed as abusive when the incidents happen a number of times, and are not just a one-off.